What we read on October 31, 2026
Last verified October 31, 2026. Last updated October 31, 2026. Each source was checked that day; a source marked not used appears nowhere else on this page.
| Source | Kind | Result on October 31, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Vals Legal AI Report | Independent benchmark | Checked. Updated February 27, 2025; includes CoCounsel 2.0 on four tasks |
| Lawyerist CoCounsel review | Editor rating | Checked. 4.6 out of 5, "based on our subjective judgment"; community ratings: 0 |
| Hacker News comment | Forum, one commenter | Checked. May 1, 2024 |
| Hacker News comment | Forum, same commenter | Checked. November 12, 2024 |
| Thomson Reuters CoCounsel Legal page | Vendor | Checked. Case-study teasers only, no ratings |
| G2, Capterra, TrustRadius, Gartner Peer Insights | Review sites | Not used: open the listings yourself |
| Reddit search | Forum | Not used: search Reddit yourself |
The independent test: what Vals measured
Vals AI is the only third party we found that scored CoCounsel against a lawyer control group. Figures below are from the Vals report, read October 31, 2026, about CoCounsel 2.0 as tested in early 2025.
| Task | CoCounsel | Lawyer baseline |
|---|---|---|
| Document Q&A | 89.6% | 70.1% |
| Document Summarization | 77.2% | 50.3% |
| Data Extraction | 73.2% | 71.1% |
| Chronology Generation | 78.0% | 80.2% |
Read the caveats the report itself states: scoring used a language-model judge that the report says is not sufficient to replace an expert human grader; each vendor opted into a different number of tasks, so vendor averages are not comparable; Chronology Generation covered 10 questions; and Vals says it has a customer relationship with one or more of the participants. CoCounsel did not opt into Redlining, Transcript Analysis or EDGAR Research, so the report says nothing about them. The report also predates the product changes in what Thomson Reuters shipped in October 2026.
What individual reviewers say
The Lawyerist page, read October 31, 2026, lists three pros (Contract Review and Compliance, Document Analysis Focused, Legal Market Focused) and three cons (Expensive, Add-on Product, "Not for Caselaw Research"). It rates the product 4.6 out of 5 and states the rating is its subjective judgment; its community score shows "Based on 0 Ratings". It does not state a review date, a tester or a method, and its "Not for Caselaw Research" con sits next to an FAQ saying CoCounsel supports case law research, so we treat it as an editor's opinion, not test evidence.
Two comments on Hacker News from one commenter are the only user voices we checked. On May 1, 2024 they wrote (source) that they work at a law firm and that CoCounsel "is pretty good." On November 12, 2024 they wrote (source): "Given what law firms are paying for CoCounsel, Thomson Reuters sure as heck are." The second is a remark about price, not a measured experience. Two comments from one anonymous account are an anecdote, not a sample.
What the vendor says (not a review)
The Thomson Reuters CoCounsel Legal page, read October 31, 2026, links case studies: one says a customer achieved "5 times the ROI" and "increasing litigation capacity by 100%", another says a firm "reduced hour-long reviews into minutes". These are vendor-selected customer stories; we have not checked the underlying studies and cannot confirm the figures.
What we could not confirm
- What the G2, Capterra, TrustRadius and Gartner reviews say, how many there are, or their scores. A search snippet quoted ratings from these sites; they are not repeated here because we have not checked them.
- What Reddit users say about CoCounsel.
- Whether CoCounsel hallucinates more or less than other tools: no source we checked measures it.
- How the current product performs: the only independent test is from February 2025 and covers CoCounsel 2.0 on four tasks.
- Today's price: not checked today, so not stated here.
How to use this before you buy
- Treat the Vals table as a task-level signal on document work, not an overall grade, and ask Thomson Reuters whether the version you would buy is the one tested.
- Run your own test: pick 10 real documents and 10 research questions from closed matters, score the answers against what a senior lawyer would accept, and check every citation.
- Open the full reviews on G2, Capterra or TrustRadius yourself in a browser; they may say more than this page does.
- For fit and cost, see our CoCounsel product profile, the price page, the break-even view of whether it pays for itself and how a firm chooses between Harvey and CoCounsel.
Sources
- Vals Legal AI Report, updated February 27, 2025, read October 31, 2026
- Lawyerist CoCounsel review, read October 31, 2026
- Hacker News comment, May 1, 2024, read October 31, 2026
- Hacker News comment, November 12, 2024, read October 31, 2026
- Thomson Reuters CoCounsel Legal page, read October 31, 2026
Questions and answers
Are there reliable CoCounsel reviews?
Few. On October 31, 2026 we found one independent test that includes CoCounsel (Vals AI, February 2025), a Lawyerist rating that its own page calls subjective and shows with zero community ratings, and two Hacker News comments from 2024. We summarize no review from G2, Capterra, TrustRadius, Gartner or Reddit, so read those listings yourself.
What did the independent test find about CoCounsel?
In the Vals Legal AI Report (updated February 27, 2025), CoCounsel 2.0 scored 89.6% on Document Q&A against a 70.1% lawyer baseline and 77.2% on Document Summarization against 50.3%. It scored 73.2% on Data Extraction (baseline 71.1%) and 78.0% on Chronology Generation, below the 80.2% baseline. It did not opt into Redlining, Transcript Analysis or EDGAR Research.
Do lawyers say CoCounsel hallucinates?
None of the sources we checked reports a hallucination rate for CoCounsel. The Vals report scores answers against reference answers with a language-model judge; it does not publish a hallucination count. Check every citation the tool returns, as you would for any AI research output.
Where can I see CoCounsel pricing?
We do not restate prices on this page because we have not checked the vendor price list today. Our CoCounsel pricing page carries the dated price and its source.
Operational information, not legal advice or a buying recommendation. Each source was opened on October 31, 2026; we did not test CoCounsel ourselves. Reviews and benchmarks change, so confirm with the vendor and read the sources before you rely on them.