Westlaw AI pricing at a glance

ProductWhat Thomson Reuters says (October 21, 2026)Label
Westlaw Advantage, single-circuitFrom $256.75 per monthStated by the vendor
Westlaw Advantage, all states and federalFrom $399.75 per monthStated by the vendor
Unit of the monthly price (per user or per firm)Not stated on the pageNot published
Term discounts12% with a 2-year subscription, 18% with 3 yearsStated by the vendor
Who can see online pricingNew customers only; firms with up to 10 attorneys. Larger firms contact salesStated by the vendor
Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted ResearchPlans page shows no amount in its text; a "View pricing" route existsNot verified
CoCounsel LegalNo amount until you enter sector, number of attorneys, jurisdiction and plan length; 1, 2 and 3-year plansNot published
Free trialA free trial can be requested; length and terms not statedStated by the vendor

What Westlaw Advantage includes

Thomson Reuters says Westlaw Advantage uses agentic AI to run multistep research. Its plans page lists Deep Research, Litigation Document Analyzer, Complaint Analyzer, Claims Explorer and AI Jurisdictional Surveys, plus KeyCite, the West Key Number System and Headnotes. It also says new features are included during your initial contract term. On how it differs from the cheaper tier, Thomson Reuters says Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research gives trusted answers, and Advantage "takes things a step further" by running multistep processes without being prompted. Vendor description only: we did not run any of it.

Westlaw AI vs CoCounsel: which price are you asking about?

"Westlaw AI pricing" can mean three different products. Westlaw Advantage is the research platform with agentic AI and has the published starting price above. Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research is the earlier AI tier. CoCounsel Legal is a separate Thomson Reuters AI product that draws on Westlaw and Practical Law content. Its price is quote-driven, and our CoCounsel pricing page covers it with third-party estimates labelled as estimates. For the head-to-head see CoCounsel vs Westlaw AI.

Is there a "Westlaw Copilot"?

We found no Thomson Reuters product named Westlaw Copilot on the pages we read. Searches for it likely mean either CoCounsel (Thomson Reuters's AI assistant name) or Microsoft Copilot used for legal research. We compare the second in Microsoft Copilot legal research vs Lexis and Westlaw. That is our reading of the search term, not a vendor statement.

What the price does not tell you

  • The unit: ask whether $256.75 and $399.75 are per attorney, per firm or per month for a seat.
  • Larger firms: online pricing stops at 10 attorneys.
  • Existing customers: online pricing is for new customers only; existing Thomson Reuters customers must call sales.
  • Renewal terms and anything added by bundles.
  • Quality: Thomson Reuters publishes no accuracy figures for Advantage on these pages.

What we couldn't verify

  • Whether the monthly price is per user.
  • The price of Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research and of CoCounsel Legal.
  • How the product performs. We did not test it.
  • Whether the online price matches what a quote returns.

Sources

Questions and answers

How much does Westlaw AI cost?

For Westlaw Advantage, Thomson Reuters's plans page lists pricing from $256.75 per month for single-circuit coverage and $399.75 per month for all states and federal coverage (read October 21, 2026). It does not say whether that is per user. Firms with more than 10 attorneys and existing customers must contact sales.

How much does Westlaw CoCounsel cost?

Thomson Reuters shows no CoCounsel Legal amount until you enter sector, number of attorneys, jurisdiction and plan length. Plans run 1, 2 or 3 years. Third-party estimates exist; see our CoCounsel pricing page.

What is Westlaw Copilot?

We found no Thomson Reuters product with that name. Searches usually mean CoCounsel or Microsoft Copilot used for legal research.

Do longer terms cost less?

Yes, per Thomson Reuters: 12% off a 2-year Westlaw Advantage subscription and 18% off a 3-year subscription.

Operational information, not legal advice. Tool descriptions are each vendor's own claims, read October 21, 2026; we did not test any product. Prices change; check the vendor page before you decide.