AI VORTEX

Free sheet · Read October 21, 2026

What 13 legal AI tools say about price and your client data.

I read each vendor’s own pricing and security pages and wrote down only what they say: price, billing, SOC 2, ISO 27001, data retention and training on your data. What I could not read says Not verified. Every row has its source.

By Manuel Ayala, AI Vortex · Two-page PDF plus the full table below

Get the PDF

Keep the dated sheet and the four questions to send every vendor.

Enter your email to download it. You will also get the weekly legal AI brief; unsubscribe any time. No call.

Prices with source and date. No call required.

You are in. The sheet is ready.

Download the PDF ↓

Questions on a row? Email manuel@aivortex.io.

The sheet

Published price, security and retention, tool by tool.

“Not published” means no figure on the vendor’s official page, not that a price does not exist. “Claimed” means the vendor says it but shows no report on the page I read. Highlighted cells are Not verified.

ToolPublished priceBilling modelSOC 2ISO 27001Data retentionTrains on your dataSource
HarveyNot publishedNot statedYes, Type IIYesCustomer-setNo (opt-in only)harvey.ai/security
LegoraNot publishedNot statedYes, Type IIYesCustomer-setNolegora.com/security
CoCounsel LegalNot shown; gated form1 to 3 year termYes, Type not statedCompany level; product page names ISO 42001Per accountNothomsonreuters.com/en/cocounsel
WestlawNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedthomsonreuters.com/en/trust-center
Lexis+ AI ProtégéNot publishedCustom quoteNot statedNot statedVaults until deleted; history 90 daysNolexisnexis.com/.../lexis-plus-protege
SpellbookNot publishedQuote by seat countYes, Type IINot statedZero at LLM vendors; own period not statedNospellbook.com/pricing
Clio Work / DuoNot verified (page blocked)Not verifiedYes, Type 2 (company)Not statedNot verifiedNot statedtrust.clio.com
Paxton$499 per user per month; $2,999 per user per yearPer-user subscriptionClaimed, Type not statedClaimedNot statedNot statedpaxton.ai/pricing
vLex Vincent AINot publishedNot statedClaimed, Type not stated"Compliance" onlyZero at LLM vendors; own period not statedNovlex.com/security
Briefpoint$150 per attorney per month, billed annuallyPer attorney, flat planYes, Type IINot statedPer account settingsNobriefpoint.ai/pricing
Gavel (Workflows)From $83 per month; Scale from $417Tiered, monthly or annualYes, Type II (Exec only)No (host only)Customer-controlledNogavel.io/pricing
Relativity aiRNot publishedCommitted data volume, no per-user feeYes, Type IIYesNot statedNot statedrelativity.com/platform/pricing
LuminanceNot publishedNot statedYes, Type IIYesDeleted within 30 days, backups 30 moreNot stated outrightluminance.com/security

Westlaw and Clio Work / Duo are Not verified because their official pages were not readable on this date (a form gate and a bot block). I did not fill those gaps from third-party sites. Prices change: treat every figure as true on October 21, 2026 only.

Ask every vendor

Four questions, in writing.

  1. What is the price for my number of attorneys, in writing, for a 12 month term?
  2. Can I see your SOC 2 report (Type II) and ISO 27001 certificate under NDA?
  3. How long do you keep prompts, outputs and uploads, and can I set that period myself?
  4. Is any of my data used to train or fine-tune a model, yours or a provider’s? Where is that written in the contract?

A SOC 2 badge says nothing about retention. If you want help turning the answers into a pick for one workflow, see AI workflow consulting for law firms.

About this sheet

Quick answers.

Which legal AI tools publish their price?

On the pages read on October 21, 2026: Paxton ($499 per user per month or $2,999 per user per year), Briefpoint ($150 per attorney per month, billed annually) and Gavel Workflows (from $83 per month). Most others publish no figure or require a quote.

Does a SOC 2 badge tell me how long my data is kept?

No. A SOC 2 report describes controls, not retention. Ask in writing how long prompts and uploads are kept, who can delete them and whether any customer data trains a model.

Why are Westlaw and Clio marked Not verified?

Their official pages could not be read on that date (a form gate and a bot block). The sheet does not fill those cells from third-party sites.

How current is the data?

Every row was read on October 21, 2026 from the vendor's own pages. Prices and terms change, so treat each figure as true on that date only.