Updated October 20, 2026 · checked against sources listed below
Clio Work is Clio's AI workspace for legal research, analysis and strategy, now sold to solo, small and mid-sized firms without a Clio Manage subscription. LawNext reported that it launched in October 2025 at $199 per user per month as an add-on for Clio Manage subscribers, and that in April 2026 Clio removed the Clio Manage requirement (LawNext). We found no standalone price. clio.com returned 403 to our fetch, so we could not confirm any current price on Clio's own site.
Clio Work at a glance
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| What it is | AI workspace for legal research, analysis and strategy; interprets facts and files, identifies key issues, helps shape arguments |
| Built for | Solo, small and mid-sized law firms |
| Price (reported) | $199 per user per month at launch as a Clio Manage add-on (LawNext, press report). Standalone price not found |
| Availability | Standalone since April 2026; a global rollout is underway per Clio's release |
| Features named | Goal-based agentic tasks, pleadings, discovery, depositions, contracts, policies, matter context from documents and contacts |
| Research base | vLex corpus; vendor says more than one billion legal documents |
| Security stated | Not stated in the sources we could read |
| Source | LawNext |
The $199 figure is a launch price from a press report, not a figure we read on a Clio page. Confirm current pricing with Clio.
What Clio Work is
LawNext describes Clio Work as “the AI workspace for legal research, analysis and strategy” that Clio launched in October 2025 (LawNext). Clio's April 2026 release says it “interprets facts and files, identifies key issues, and helps shape arguments” (Legal Futures).
It is tied to Clio's acquisition of vLex, which LawNext says closed in November 2025 and which supplies the corpus behind Clio Work's research. vLex's own site confirms that “in 2025, Clio acquired vLex” (vlex.com/about-us). The sources we read do not explain how Clio Work relates to the Vincent product by name, nor to Clio Duo.
Who Clio Work is for
Best for: Solo, small and mid-sized firms that want AI research and drafting without enterprise procurement.
Both the LawNext article and Clio's release say it is for solo, small and mid-sized law firms, and that it was previously limited to Clio Manage subscribers. Clio calls it its “fastest-adopted product in company history,” a vendor claim without user numbers that we could not verify.
Clio Work pricing
LawNext reports that Clio Work was offered at $199 per user per month, as an additional product for Clio Manage subscribers, at launch. Clio's April 2026 release does not state a price, and neither source gives a standalone price. Clio's pricing page returned 403 to our fetch, so check clio.com directly and get the current figure in writing.
For lower-cost routes see best AI tools for small law firms and best AI tools for solo and small firms; Paxton publishes its price on our Paxton profile.
Notable features
Per Clio's release, complex tasks can be delegated through goal-based instructions, with agentic capabilities that plan and execute steps and keep “full visibility and control at every stage.” It supports litigation and transactional work, including pleadings, discovery, depositions, contracts and policies.
The release says Clio Work builds a deeper understanding of context as users add documents, matter details and contacts, and that outputs become more aligned with the firm's approach with use. LawNext adds that an early-April 2026 update introduced multi-step agentic tasks built on a skills infrastructure.
Security and data handling
Neither source we could read contains security, privacy or model-training statements for Clio Work. vLex's site says its Vincent platform is SOC 2 and ISO 27001 certified, but that page does not describe Clio Work, so we do not apply it here. Ask Clio for its security documentation.
What we could not verify
We could not read any clio.com page (403), so we have no vendor-page confirmation of price, features or availability by region. We did not test the product. The one-billion-document corpus and adoption claims are vendor statements.
Clio Work alternatives
Closest in scope: vLex Vincent AI (now part of Clio), CoCounsel and Paxton. Inside the Clio line, see Clio Duo. Other practice-management AI: MyCase IQ and Smokeball. Research roundup: Westlaw and Lexis alternatives.
How to choose
- Get the current standalone price in writing; the reported $199 is a launch price.
- Ask what research content is included and how citations are verified.
- Ask Clio for security and data-use documentation.
- Run one real matter through it and through one other research tool.
The bottom line: Clio Work is Clio's AI workspace for small and mid-sized firms, backed by vLex research content. Its launch price was reported at $199 per user per month; confirm the current price with Clio.
Sources and what we checked
Press reports and vendor release read on 2026-10-20; clio.com returned 403 and is not cited for any fact.
- LawNext, April 21, 2026 (launch price $199, Clio Manage requirement removed, vLex tie, agentic update)
- Legal Futures, April 23, 2026 (Clio press release republished: features, availability, adoption claim)
- vlex.com/about-us (Clio acquired vLex in 2025)
- vlex.com (Vincent security and integration statements (not Clio Work))
Related decision paths
AI-Assisted Research. This page was researched and written with AI assistance. Prices and product facts were checked against the public sources listed above on 2026-10-20; where a figure could not be verified it is left out. Vendors can request corrections at manuel@aivortex.io.
