MyCase AI at a glance
| Question | What MyCase says (October 21, 2026) | Label |
|---|---|---|
| Basic plan | $50 per user per month annual, $60 monthly; no AI listed | Stated by the vendor |
| Pro plan | $100 annual, $120 monthly; 8am IQ Writing and Document assistants | Stated by the vendor |
| Advanced plan | $130 annual, $150 monthly; Pro AI plus Case Assistant and Discovery Assistant (OCR) | Stated by the vendor |
| Discovery OCR volume | 5,000 pages per user per month, shared across the firm; 5,000 more pages for the whole firm cost $30 and expire at the end of the subscription period | Stated by the vendor |
| Free trial | 10 days, no credit card required | Stated by the vendor |
| MyCase MCP (search MyCase data from Claude) | Plan inclusion and price not stated | Not published |
| Which language model powers 8am IQ, and whether customer data trains models | Not stated on the pricing page | Not published |
| How well the assistants perform | No accuracy figures on the page | Not verified |
What the 8am IQ assistants are
MyCase's pricing page describes four assistants. The Writing Assistant translates languages, adjusts tone and improves clarity. The Document Assistant extracts and summarizes key details for faster document review. The Case Assistant is described as a case analysis and research assistant. The Discovery Assistant is OCR for discovery documents. Separately, the page describes an "8am MyCase MCP" that lets you search and retrieve MyCase data directly from Claude.
One wrinkle: the feature list shows the Document Assistant without a plan tier, while the plan cards group the Writing and Document assistants under Pro. We read it as Pro and Advanced, which matches our MyCase IQ profile, and you should confirm it in writing.
Is it worth it? A decision by use
Drafting emails, summarizing records, tone edits: the Pro assistants cover what MyCase lists. The step from Basic to Pro is $50 per user per month on annual billing and $60 monthly, using MyCase's published prices.
Case analysis or discovery OCR: those sit on Advanced, $30 more per user per month than Pro on either billing cycle. For a five-person firm that is $1,800 per year more, which is our arithmetic on the published prices.
Heavy OCR: the 5,000-page pool is shared by the whole firm, so a firm with one large production can run through it. Extra pages are $30 per 5,000 per MyCase.
If you only want a chat assistant: MyCase does not publish how its assistants perform. A general assistant may cover simple drafting, but it won't read your matter data the way an integrated one can. We have not tested either.
Pricing and terms
Billing is per user. MyCase says annual billing saves up to 16% and is paid upfront, monthly billing has no contract, and any previously paid fees are non-refundable. MyCase Accounting is listed as $39 per user per month on Pro and Advanced, per our MyCase IQ profile, which cites the same page.
How it compares
- Smokeball: Smokeball lists its Archie assistant as an add-on with no prices published; MyCase is the one that tells you what the AI costs. See MyCase vs Smokeball vs Clio Duo.
- Clio: we did not re-verify Clio's current tiers, because its pricing page blocked automated retrieval. See MyCase IQ vs Clio Duo.
- PracticePanther: a practice-management comparison, not an AI one; see MyCase vs PracticePanther.
- Trying it first: our MyCase free trial guide covers what the 10 days include.
What we couldn't verify
- Output quality of any assistant. We did not run them.
- Which model MyCase uses, and its data terms for AI. Ask in writing before client files go in.
- Whether the MCP connector is included in a plan, or what it costs.
- A definitive "better for AI" verdict against Smokeball or Clio. No honest one exists without testing both on your own matters.
How to test it in a week
- Start the 10-day trial with non-sensitive documents.
- Run the same three tasks through the Writing and Document assistants: summarize a record, redraft an email, extract dates.
- If you need discovery OCR, upload a representative batch and see how fast the 5,000 pages go.
- Ask MyCase for the AI data terms in writing.
- Compare the per-user cost of Pro and Advanced against how many people would actually use the extra assistants.
Sources
- MyCase pricing (page read October 21, 2026) (Vendor claims; plan prices, 8am IQ assistants by plan, OCR pages, 10-day trial)
Questions and answers
Which is better for AI features, MyCase or Smokeball?
On what the vendors publish, MyCase has the clearer offer: four named 8am IQ assistants by plan with prices from $100 to $150 per user per month. Smokeball lists its Archie assistant as an add-on with no prices published. We have not tested either, so we cannot name a winner on output quality.
Which brand offers better AI features, MyCase or Clio?
We can compare only what is published. MyCase publishes plan-by-plan AI and prices. We did not re-verify Clio's current tiers, so we won't claim a ranking. See our MyCase IQ vs Clio Duo page for the side-by-side.
What is MyCase IQ?
MyCase IQ is the name MyCase gave to AI assistants in its plans; its pricing page now calls them 8am IQ. The page lists Writing, Document, Case and Discovery assistants.
How much does MyCase AI cost?
Pro is $100 per user per month billed annually ($120 monthly) and Advanced is $130 ($150 monthly), per MyCase's pricing page read October 21, 2026. Extra discovery OCR pages are $30 per 5,000 pages for the whole firm. No separate price is published for the other assistants.
Operational information, not legal advice. Tool descriptions are each vendor's own claims, read October 21, 2026; we did not test any product. Prices change; check the vendor page before you decide.
New: MyCase vs Smokeball 2026: AI, Pricing, Features
New: MyCase Alternatives 2026: Smokeball, PracticePanther, Filevine