Price sources, checked 5 November 2026: AIForLegal, Paxton. Each figure on this page is a list price from the vendor's own pricing page, or arithmetic on one. Plans and promotions change; confirm on the vendor's page before you buy.
Three legal AI tools side by side (vendor pages read November 5, 2026)
| AIForLegal | Paxton | Alexi | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published price | Basic $19.99, Plus $49.99, Premium $99.99 a month; $13.99, $34.99 and $69.99 a month billed annually; Enterprise by quote | Individual $499 a month or $2,999 a year per user; Enterprise by quote | None found; the calls to action are "Start Your Guided Trial" and "Book a Consulation" |
| Trial | 3 days on every plan, with a $1 activation fee | 7 days free | Guided trial; terms not stated on the page |
| Who it is for | Legal professionals, business owners, law firms and individuals | Attorneys and firms, with a litigation focus | Law firms, across litigation and transactional work |
| What the page describes | Legal Q&A with citations, case law search, contract review, document drafting | Research across 30,000+ legal sources, court-formatted drafting, case timelines, matter analysis | Firm knowledge, playbooks and templates applied to each task, single-tenant deployment, agents and integrations |
| Security stated | Not stated on the pages we read | SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA; says your data never trains AI models | SOC 2 and AES-256 encryption |
AIForLegal: what the plans include
The pricing page lists Basic, Plus and Premium. All three include model access, unlimited queries and up-to-date legal data. Plus adds document and image upload, document generation and review of 50 documents a month. Premium makes document review unlimited and adds web search and a deep research mode. The page says annual billing takes 30% off, and that cancelling stops future billing while keeping access to the end of the paid period. The home page also carries a notice that its content is not legal advice.
Paxton: a price per attorney
Paxton's Individual plan is $499 per user a month, or $2,999 per user a year, so the annual option costs less per month. It lists research across 30,000+ legal sources, court-formatted drafting, document connectors and case timelines, and offers a 7-day free trial. Enterprise adds Word and Outlook plugins, more document-management connectors, a Claude MCP integration and a security review, with no price shown. For the full profile, read our Paxton review.
Alexi: no price to compare
Alexi's pages describe a platform that applies a firm's playbooks, templates and prior work to each task, with single-tenant deployment and workflow agents. We found no price or plan list. The page cites a third-party result about legal analysis accuracy, which we did not check, so treat it as the vendor's claim.
How to choose
- Individual or small business that wants plain-language answers at a low monthly price: AIForLegal is the only one of the three with a price in that range. Check the jurisdiction coverage yourself, because the page says analysis is adapted to your jurisdiction without listing which ones.
- Litigator who wants drafting and matter analysis in one workspace: Paxton publishes a price and a 7-day trial, so you can test it on a real matter.
- Firm that wants a deployment tied to its own playbooks and templates: Alexi describes it, but you need a conversation to get a price.
- Free or low-cost starting points: see our Claude for Lawyers alternatives and LegesGPT alternatives.
We did not test the accuracy of any of the three. Whichever you pick, a lawyer still has to read the authorities it cites.
Questions to ask before you buy
- What is the price per user on annual billing, and what happens when the trial ends?
- Which jurisdictions and sources are covered today, and how often are they updated?
- Are my uploaded documents used to train models, and can I delete them?
- Can I see the security report behind the certifications on the page?
Sources
- AIForLegal, pricing page (read Nov 5, 2026) (Plans, trial and activation fee, annual discount)
- AIForLegal, home page (read Nov 5, 2026) (Product description, audiences)
- Paxton, pricing page (read Nov 5, 2026) (Individual and Enterprise plans, trial, security statements)
- Alexi, pricing page (read Nov 5, 2026; no price listed) (Product description, security statements, guided trial)
- Security reports and terms of service of all three (not read) (Unchecked)
Questions and answers
How much does AIForLegal cost?
The pricing page lists $19.99, $49.99 and $99.99 a month for Basic, Plus and Premium, with lower monthly figures billed annually. Enterprise has no published price.
Does AIForLegal have a free trial?
Every plan includes a 3-day trial, and the page says a one-time $1 activation fee applies.
What is an alternative to AIForLegal with a published price?
Of the tools we read, Paxton, at $499 a month per user or $2,999 a year. It is priced and scoped for attorneys, not for the general public.
Does Alexi publish its price?
We did not find one on its pages. The call to action is a guided trial.
Operational information, not legal advice or a quote. Vendor pages were read November 5, 2026 and can change. We ran none of the products and reviewed no security report or terms of service.